New Multi-Launch Coaster Coming to Blackpool

So this was first teased yesterday when owner and CEO of Blackpool Pleasure Beach Amanda Thompson posted a photo of herself outside the headquarters of Mack Rides in Germany on Twitter. It was later confirmed and has since been running rampant all over the Internet, so I thought it only fair I throw my hat into the ring and give my insight and opinion too.

Coming to BPB in 2018 is a brand new, multi-launch roller coaster currently codenamed ‘Construction 2018’ until they think up a better name. The ride experience (a video of which can be found online if you’re interested) will feature two launches, two inversions, a top speed of 50mph and height of 88.5 feet, with a maximum g-force of 4. While these statistics may not sound particularly impressive, it will be the first coaster of its kind in the UK and will interact with 5 of the currently existing rides in the park, including the Big One, Big Dipper and Steeplechase coasters.

Personally I’m quite excited by this news. I found out about this literally the same day as I rode another multi-launch coaster for the first time (that being Taron at Phantasialand, my review of which is coming soon), and am looking forward to seeing how Blackpool pull this off. With a construction cost of ¬£16.25 million it’s clear that no expense is being spared with this one, and it should add to the already stellar line-up of attractions that BPB has to offer. I’m actually visiting BPB myself in about a month’s time so check back then for trip reports and reviews of the attractions currently on offer!

For now, I’ll be keeping my ear to the ground as regards Construction 2018. This is the second major UK coaster announced for 2018 (along with SW8 at Alton Towers) and I’m eagerly anticipating trying out both. Stay tuned for future updates.

See you around =] x x

Leave a Reply

