Fast & Furious Supercharges into Florida

So I’m not sure how long this has been known for, but it was just a little something I stumbled upon while researching 3D attractions at Universal Studios following my blog post yesterday. Earlier this year Universal Studios Hollywood premiered a new finale to their Studio Tour called Fast & Furious Supercharged, and as I understand it, a version of this will be translated over to Florida as a stand-alone attraction and will be open by 2018.

Initially I was a little sceptical about this, being unsure how you could translate a section of a longer ride into an attraction all its own. But then, if you think about it, that was the M.O. of Universal Studios Florida when it opened, pretty much. You take segments of the Studio Tour, like the Jaws and Earthquake sections, and turn them into their own unique attractions. Admittedly yes, both of these are now closed, but my point is that at least they have some experience in this kind of thing.

Speaking of Earthquake, the new Fast & Furious attraction will be replacing Earthquake’s re-theme Disaster!, as well as the Beetlejuice show. This to me says they may well be planning on re-themeing the entire San Francisco area of the park, which has already shrunk in recent years thanks to the removal of Jaws and the transformation of the Amity section of the area into Diagon Alley. I can’t say I mind this all that much, as Jaws was always my favourite ride in that area and it’s an attraction I still miss to this day. I haven’t seen any of the Fast & Furious films so I don’t know where they’re set, but I think they could probably do a nice job of the re-theme if they turn the whole area into Fast & Furious territory.

So, speculatively, I reckon they could probably keep the existing Disaster! ride vehicles and just change up the background and set to install the 3D screens. Think about it: the original has you sat on the studio tour tram inside a tunnel, so it’s not all that far-flung from Disaster!’s subway carriages and theme. I’m not sure how removing the Beetlejuice show will help, unless they’re planning on using the area for a new show or something else entirely, who knows. What I do know is that the new attraction will be open and with us in 2018, the same year I’ll be visiting the original in California as part of my honeymoon (that’s the plan, at least). I’ll look forward to bringing you all the details on that, this, and anything else I happen to stumble on during my adventures.

Thanks for reading, and enjoy the rest of your stay here at Along for the Ride.

Leave a Reply

