Ghostbusters 5D at Heide Park

OK, so I missed the boat a little on this one – I intended to post this on Halloween when it would have been spookier but since I didn’t really want to pay for inferior hotel Wi-Fi or limit myself to 30 minutes online I decided to postpone posting until I was back home. So that’s why you’re getting this little tidbit now.

Coming to Germany’s Heide Park theme park in 2017 is the new attraction Ghostbusters 5D, obviously capitalising on the recent movie and the resurgence in popularity of the franchise as a whole. The ride will be an interactive 3D shooter-style ride in the vein of Toy Story Midway Mania! I would imagine and will most likely feature characters from both the classic movies and the 2016 reboot.

I have to be honest, I did a little bit roll my eyes when I read the title of this ride. I mean, come on, 4D is bad enough, but 5D?! I guess if 3D refers to the 3D images and 4D refers to motion then the fifth dimension must be the interactivity of the ride, but even so it still sounds a bit ridiculous. Does this mean we can expect 6D or 7D rides by the end of the decade?? It’s also a bit of a cop-out name-wise, just using the name of the movie and sticking 5D at the end of it, but at least then I suppose everyone knows what to expect regardless of which language they speak.

I shall reserve judgment on Ghostbusters 5D until after it opens and I get to experience it for myself (and no, I don’t expect those to be close together, sadly). Currently all the park have to offer on this front is ‘2017’, but I’m sure that will become clearer as construction progresses. Heide Park is somewhere I’m definitely interested in visiting at some point in the future, so I hope to be able to experience this attraction eventually, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see. In the meantime…don’t get caught alone!

Thanks for reading, and enjoy the rest of your stay here at Along for the Ride.

Leave a Reply

